Header Bild

Chair of Physical Chemistry

Chair of Physical Chemistry

Research

The research activities at the Chair of Physical Chemistry, University of Leoben, concentrate on the thermodynamic and kinetic characterisation of micro – and nano-crystalline materials, emphasising solid ionic and mixed ionic-electronic conductors.

A major goal is to gain a better understanding of mass and charge transport with respect to defect chemistry, including interfaces (grain boundaries, electrode / solid electrolyte). These investigations are performed by applying various electrochemical and thermochemical methods, completed by computational modelling.

The research refers to basic problems as well as aspects of application (components for solid oxide fuel cells, sensors, mixed conducting membranes, electroceramics).

Education

Basic education in physical chemistry is offered to students of Metallurgy, Ceramics, Materials Science, Industrial Environmental Protection, and Applied Geosciences in various classes and lab courses.

The aim of these teaching activities is to give a basic knowledge of chemical thermodynamics and kinetics to the graduates of the University of Leoben as well as the scientific co-workers of the Chair of Physical Chemistry which enables them to find and optimise new industrial procedures and processes, respectively.

Header Bild

Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie

Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie

Forschung

Die Forschung am Institut für Physikalische Chemie der Montanuniversität Leoben konzentriert sich auf die thermodynamische und kinetische Charakterisierung von mikro- and nano-kristallinen Materialien, im besonderen auf ionisch- und gemischt ionisch-elektronisch leitenden Substanzen. 

Ein Schwerpunkt ist das Studium des Masse- und Ladungstransportes in Bezug auf die Defektchemie einschließlich der Grenzflächen (Korngrenzen, Elektrode/Festelektrolyt). Für die verschiedenen Untersuchungen wenden wir elektrochemische und thermochemische Methoden an, ergänzt durch computerunterstützte Modellierung. 

Die Forschung betrifft grundlegende Fragestellungen wie auch Aspekte deren Anwendung (Komponenten für Brennstoffzellen, Sensoren, gemischt leitende Membranen, elektrokeramische Bauelemente).


Lehre

In der Grundausbildung wird den Studierenden der Studienrichtungen Metallurgie, Gesteinshüttenwesen, Werkstoffwissenschaften, Industrieller Umweltschutz und Angewandte Geowissenschaften das Basiswissen in Vorlesungen   und Laboratoriumsübungen vermittelt.

Als Ausbildungsziel soll den Absolventen der Montanuniversität von den wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern des Lehrstuhls das physikalisch-chemische Verständnis vermittelt werden, welches ihnen ermöglicht, neue Verfahren bzw. Prozesse für die Industrie zu finden bzw. zu optimieren.